Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting National Education Toolkit in Australia
The National Education Toolkit for Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting Awareness

What is infibulation?

The most destructive type of Female Genital Mutilation or Cutting in the World Heatlth Organisation classification is Type III, which is also called infibulation. It is estimated that about 15% of all women who have undergone FGM/C have been infibulated. In order for infibulated women to give birth vaginally, the stitched area must be opened with a knife or scissors.

Common questions about Female Genital
Mutilation / Cutting (FGM/C)

(Click on the question)

Contact NETFA | Information

Resources | Sitemap |

Copyright © NETFA 2015

Website by Dean | Contact